Up, Up and Away

Following a wonderful photographic workshop with the amazing wisdom of Sam Abell, I was lucky enough to have planned my flight home to coordinate with the Albuquerque Balloon Festival. Not sure whether the balloons would fly (since the mass ascension was cancelled the day before due to high winds), I woke up a bit too late to catch the mass ascension, but was pleased to find a bouquet of balloons while driving my rental car to the airport. I shot the first few frames with my trusty point and shoot while keeping one hand on the steering wheel,but felt I had to stop to get some more exciting images. I turned into the closest parking lot, where one balloon got stuck on a pole, and it was a cooperative effort to get it aloft once more. That balloon never did fly again, but we were able to share in the excitement of many other balloons which did indeed make their ascent.

One thought on “Up, Up and Away

Leave a Reply

