Giving Back

I recently started volunteering with the Eastern Farm Workers association, who give aid to migrant farm workers in Long Island.  I first met a member of this group in Sag Harbor, and as I read their material, I was eager to join in and give back.

One extraordinary person I met, is Dr. Ferguson,  a family doctor on Fire Island and Islip, who  even makes house calls! He volunteers monthly to give medical care to those migrant workers who work from sun up to sundown and still can’t make ends meet, especially in the cold winter months.

I tagged along, camera in hand, while Dr. Ferguson, his wonderful daughter Alexis and volunteer translators and college students did the paperwork and intakes. About 20 people were seen this Sunday in a  make shift examination room at the Labor Camp, and I was amazed by all that was accomplished.  Eyes were examined, moles were removed and sent for biopsy, ears were checked, and a number of prescriptions were given out.

As I watched the  family doctor doing something he clearly loves,  I only hoped my photos could portray the dedication and joy both doctor and patient achieved.

001 SWW_0104 002 SWW_0192 003 SWW_0058 004 SWW_0066 005 SWW_0141 006 SWW_0093 007 SWW_0147 008 SWW_0159 009 SWW_0173 010 SWW_0202 011 SWW_0210 012 SWW_0212 013 SWW_0228 014 SWW_0268 015 SWW_0324 016 SWW_0194

6 thoughts on “Giving Back

  1. “As I watched the family doctor doing something he clearly loves, I only hoped my photos could portray the dedication and joy both doctor and patient achieved”. they DO!!! ruti

    Like

  2. Great pictures Susie!

    Andrea Gorbach Coldwell Banker 914-232-7000 office 917-841-5456 cell Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  3. Susie, the pictures r amazing and who would believe this is taking place minutes from where we live. The Dr is a very social man

    Enjoy California, it was great seeing you

    ⭕️❌

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  4. This is great! Hope you will submit this to other publications. So glad you are getting involved in this organization. Perhaps more doctors wil also join.

    Like

Leave a Reply

